Another successful Classic TT for Avon Tyres

Avon Tyres enjoyed another successful Classic TT event at the Isle of Man, with the top 10 finishers of the main event all running on Avon rubber.

Avon runners this year included TT legends John McGuinness, Cameron Donald, Bruce Anstey and Michael and William Dunlop in the blue-riband 500cc race.

Despite heartbreak for many of the big names, it was Olie Linsdell who took the Team Flitwick Paton across the line in first place, averaging a new lap record of 110.256mph over the four laps. Team Flitwick also took fourth place with TT stalwart Ian Lougher, also on Avon Tyres.
In the Formula TT race, rising TT star Dean Harrison took the win on his Avon-shod BSA 750 Rocket 3, while Avon runners came home second and third in the 350cc race with Cameron Donald and Dan Cooper respectively. Top privateer Alex Sinclair was also on Avon Tyres.
Avon Tyres’ Motorsport Sales Manager, Steve Smith, said, “Congratulations to Olie Linsdell and the Flitwick team who has been fast and reliable all through the practice week culminating with an incredible 110mph average over the four-lap race.

“It’s been fantastic to see so many of the Classic Racers choosing Avon Racing Tyres for this first Classic TT; well done to all involved in this new event and I’m looking forward to next year’s Classic TT.”

Avon Tyres has a long and distinguished history in motorcycle racing on two and three wheels. The first Avon motorcycle tyre was manufactured in 1911 and, since then, champions such as Geoff Duke, John Surtees, Mike Hailwood and Barry Sheene have won on Avon rubber. More recently, Avon riders have won 13 Supersport and four Production class championships, as well as Isle of Man TT victories on both three and two wheels.

Today, Avon tyres are the choice in both sidecar racing and classic motorcycle racing.